Class of 2018

mcoteMarc A. Cote is a Rhode Island state senator who represents Woonsocket and North Smithfield. He has earned the support of the electorate in those communities for the past 24 years.

In that capacity he has served as vice chair of the Committee on Commerce, and a member of the Committee on Special Legislation and Veterans Affairs.

His many accomplishments in the State Senate include working with the education department to approve the establishment of the Beacon Charter School in Woonsocket. He also worked with the local delegation to secure funding for the new Woonsocket Middle Schools.

Marc also obtained state support for the World War II Veterans Memorial Park despite the State’s multi-year effort to shift the responsibility to Woonsocket taxpayers.

He successfully advocated for the implementation of a real-time bill tracking system on the State’s website that allows the public to subscribe and be promptly notified by email of any committee or floor activity regarding specific legislation of interest to individual citizens.

A strong supporter of veterans’ issues, Senator Cote sponsored and achieved passage of legislation that gives veteran-owned small businesses a preference in securing State contracts for goods and services needed by the state.
For his efforts Marc has received the Friend of Small Business Award from the National Federation of Independent Business.

Operation Clean Government has recognized Marc’s efforts to introduce legislation to promote honest, responsible, and responsive government with the Golden Broom Award.

In addition to his public service, Marc is also a licensed broker and partner in firms active in the sale of residential and commercial real estate.

He is a past president of the Greater Woonsocket Board of Realtors and a member of the Northern Rhode Island Board of Realtors, the National and Rhode Island Association of Realtors, the Northern Rhode Island Council for the Arts, National Federation of Independent Business, and Cercle Laurier, Inc. of Woonsocket.

Hall of Fame Main Page